Forums

Forum Home > General questions concerning your hamster > alergic to hamsters

whitedog

ok so i went to my doctors today and they said to me that im alergi to my little fury friends

getting rid of them is not an option!!!!

i love them 2 much had them 3 weeks now

does anyone els have any alergies towards them or if anyone can place me tips it would be gr8ful :D

--

Cookie + Munchie(proud parent of 6-4=2)

Making a Dedicated site on Gerbils but could do with some Gerbil Fans help if you would like to help email me at

marcus@gerbils.whostas.com

or join the Forum

http://gerbils.whostas.com/mybb/index.php

March 31, 2010 at 12:38 PM Flag Quote & Reply

rainbowrobyn

I'm not allergic to them but I am studying nursing. The best thing I would suggest if you are not going to get rid of them is to wash your hands ALWAYS straight after you have handled them. Also, use a lot of cream. E45 is always a good option. But then this would entirely depend on how severe your allergy is, if it quite severe then you should probably consider in re homing your hammmies to somewhere that you may still see them? Because if your allergy is quite bad you could be putting yourself at a great risk. Even if someone else in the family looks after them and handles them? Some people don't take their allergies seriously which can cause major problems in the not so distant future. IF it is just a mild allergy to hamsters, you could just make it worse to the point were touching them could really harm you.

If you are set in keeping them and being the sole carer for them, just be careful and aware of the risks you are taking. Clean your hands straight after handling, clean them thoroughly and use hand cream as well.

--
Two Wonderful Robo's ~ Zanga and Ngozi
One Awesome Hybrid Russian ~ Pistachio
And One Fantastic Syrian ~ Frodo

R.I.P Edward, Beautiful Black Russian. September 2008 ~ March 2010
R.I.P Samwise, An Amazing Long Coated Syrian June 2010 ~ September 2010